San Jacinto College District Board Meeting Minutes

May 2, 2016

The Board of Trustees of the San Jacinto Community College District met at 7:00 p.m., Monday, May 2, 2016, in Room 104 of the Thomas S. Sewell District Administration Building, 4624 Fairmont Parkway, Pasadena, Texas, for the Regular Board Meeting.

Board of Trustees:	Marie Flickinger
	Brad Hance
	Dan Mims, Chair
	John Moon, Jr., Secretary
	Keith Sinor, Assistant Secretary
	Dr. Ruede Wheeler
	Larry Wilson, Vice Chair

Chancellor: Brenda Hellyer

Others Present:	Richard Bailey	Megan Greene	Jeff Parks
	Rafael Balderas	Justin Gutierrez	Cesar Perez
	Joshua Banks	Cesar Hernandez	Theresa Powell
	Dean Barnes	Clare Iannelli	Jennifer Reyes Lopez
	Rhonda Bell	Sallie Kay Janes	Sherilyn Reynolds
	Dana Belt	Micaela Johnson	Alondra Romano
	Pamela Betts	Brenda Jones	Courtney Saenz
	Janet Blackburn	Vontonio Jones	Erika Saavedra
	James Braswell	Bryan Jones	Kelly Simons
	William Buel	Michael Kane	Rob Stanicic
	Pam Campbell	Tami Kelly	Janice Sullivan
	David Castillo	Ann Kokx-Templet	Ann Tate
	Beth Cleary	Helen LaCour	Steve Trncak
	Teri Crawford	Chet Lewis	Richard Vega
	Francesca D'Agostavo	Larry Logsdon	Van Wigginton
	Whitney Diggs	Laurene Mathews	Kyle Wilkerson
	Amanda Fenwick	Kristy McAuliffe	Laurel Williamson
	Efrain Fermin	Trisha McCurdy	Joanna Zimmermann
	Pandora Freestone	Kevin McKisson	Craig Zimmerman
	Mario Garcia	Danielle Meche	Joe Zwiercan
	Francisco Gonzalez	Kerry Mix	
	George González	Kevin Morris	
	Ann Goad	Wanda Munson	
	Rebecca Goosen	Alexander Okwonna	

Call the Meeting to order:	Chair Dan Mims called the regular meeting of the Board of Trustees to order at 7:00 p.m.	
Roll Call of Board Members:	Marie Flickinger Brad Hance John Moon, Jr. Keith Sinor Dr. Ruede Wheeler Larry Wilson	
Invocation and Pledges to the Flags:	The invocation was given by Dr. Brenda Jones. The pledges to the American flag and the Texas flag were led by Larry Wilson.	
Special Announcements, Recognitions, and Presentations:	 Van Wigginton recognized the Process Technology Program department chair Joe Zwiercan for being awarded the Texas Association of College Technical Educators 2016 Award of Excellence. Dr. Laurel Williamson recognized the College Preparatory Program for receiving the 2016 John Champaign Memorial Award for Outstanding Developmental Education by the National Association for Developmental Education. Dr. Laurel Williamson recognized Megan Greene for receiving the Texas Association for College Admission Counseling Founder's Award. Dr. Brenda Jones and Van Wigginton recognized the Skills USA Competition Award Recipients. The following students were recognized: Francesca D'Agostavo, Trisha McCurdy, Danielle Meche, Jenifer Lopez, Erica Saavedra, Efrain Fermin, Carissa Aguirre, Cesar Perez, Ann Goad, Kyle Walker, Beth Cleary, and Cesar Hernandez. The Advisors recognized were Dana Belt, Pandora Freestone, Pam Betts, Mario Garcia, Laurene Mathews, William Buel, and David Castillo. Dr. Brenda Jones and Van Wigginton recognized the Phi Beta Lambda Competition Award Recipients. The following students were recognized: Vontonio Jones, Whitney Diggs, Justin Gutierrez, Courtney Saenz, Alondra Romano, Richard Vega, Rafael Balderas, and Micaela Johnson. The advisors recognized were Janet Blackburn and Kristy McAuliffe. Dr. Brenda Hellyer announced that the College received the Houston Business Journal Landmark Award for the Maritime Training and Technology Center. 	
Student Success Presentations:	 George González gave an update on student success points. Teri Crawford introduced Jahmal Clemons, and the three students that attended the Economic Alliance DC trip. Sarah Heasty, Johnny 	

	Zuniga, and Austin Gerry presented on their experience of the trip.
Communications to the Board:	1. A thank you was sent to the Board from Cheryl Mott, for the plant sent in memory of her husband.
Hearing of Such Citizens or Groups of Citizens Desiring to be Heard Before the Board:	There were no citizens desiring to be heard before the Board.
Informative Reports:	Dan Mims indicated such reports were in the board documents.
Motion 9707 Consideration of Approval of Amendment to the 2015-2016 Budget for Restricted Revenue and Expenses Relating to Federal and State Grants	 Motion was made by Marie Flickinger, seconded by Dr. Ruede Wheeler, for Approval of Amendment to the 2015-2016 Budget for Restricted Revenue and Expenses Relating to Federal and State Grants. Motion Carried. Yeas: Flickinger, Hance, Moon, Jr., Sinor, Wilson, Wheeler Nays: None
Motion 9708 Consideration of Ratification of Construction and License Agreement with G & H Towing Company	Motion was made by Larry Wilson, seconded by Brad Hance, for Approval of Ratification of Construction and License Agreement with G & H Towing Company. Motion Carried. Yeas: Flickinger, Hance, Moon, Jr., Sinor, Wilson, Wheeler Nays: None
Motion 9709 Consideration of Approval of Articulation Agreement with University of St. Thomas	Motion was made by Dr. Ruede Wheeler, seconded by Keith Sinor, for Approval of Articulation Agreement with University of St. Thomas. Motion Carried.
	Yeas: Flickinger, Hance, Moon, Jr., Sinor, Wilson, Wheeler Nays: None

Motion 9710 Consideration of Approval of Invasive Cardiovascular Technology	Motion was made by Keith Sinor, seconded by Marie Flicking Approval to of Invasive Cardiovascular Technology Program.	-
Program	Motion Carried.	
	Yeas: Flickinger, Hance, Moon, Jr., Sinor, Wilson, Wheeler Nays: None	
Motion 9711 Consideration of Approval of a New Occupational Therapist Assistant Program	Motion was made by Marie Flickinger, seconded by John Mo Approval of a New Occupational Therapist Assistant Program	
	Motion Carried.	
	Yeas: Flickinger, Hance, Moon, Jr., Sinor, Wilson, Wheeler Nays: None	
Consideration of Policy IV-C-16:	Informational item. Dr. Brenda Hellyer explained the information on Policy IV-C-16: Extra Service Agreements – First Reading	
Extra Service Agreements – First Reading (Information Only)	No vote needed.	
Motion 9712 Consideration of Purchasing Requests	Motion was made by Keith Sinor, seconded by John Moon, Jr approval of the purchasing requests.	, for
	Purchase Request #1 - Interlocal Agreement and Contract with Harris Health System	\$1,543,340
	Purchase Request #2 - GMP Phase IV - North campus CIT Bldg	1,441,812
	Purchase Request #3 - Amatrol Equipment	269,673
	Purchase Request #4 - Contract for Electrical Maintenance Services	200,000

	Purchase Request #5 - December 2016 Graduation Event License	100,000	
	Purchase Request #6 - Contract for Beverage Vending and Pouring Rights	100,000	
	Purchase Request #7 - Renew Contract for Annual Financial Audit Services	84,000	
	Purchase Request #8 - Renew Contract for Consumable Welding Products	60,000	
	Purchase Request #9 - Method of Procurement for North Campus Central Plant	-	
	TOTAL OF PURCHASE REQUESTS	\$3,798,825	
	Motion Carried.		
	Yeas: Flickinger, Hance, Moon, Jr., Sinor, Wilson, Wheeler Nays: None		
Motion 9713 Consent Agenda	Motion was made by Dr. Ruede Wheeler, seconded by Brad H approve the consent agenda.	eeler, seconded by Brad Hance, to	
	Motion Carried.		
	Yeas: Flickinger, Hance, Moon, Jr., Sinor, Wilson, Wheeler Nays: None		
Adjournment:	Meeting Adjourned at 7:39 p.m.		